LibGuides: Genealogy : Home

Library Resources & Databases

Ancestry Library Edition
Contains billions of names in over 6,000 databases and is a comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical research. This database is only available to the public at the Library and cannot be accessed from home.
HeritageQuest Online
HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular ProQuest Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content. Powered by Ancestry with more than 4.4 billion records and coverage dating back to the 1700s.

To have access patrons will need a TexShare database log in, provided by the Schertz Public Library.
Fold3 Library Edition
Convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. This continually-growing collection contains millions of records from world-class archives, many of which are exclusively available on Fold3.

To have access patrons will need a TexShare database log in, provided by the Schertz Public Library.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Digital Sanborn Maps provides digital access to 2118 large-scale maps of 436 Texas towns and cities, including Dallas, Houston, Austin, El Paso, Fort Worth, and San Antonio.

Schertz Area Genealogists

The Schertz Area Genealogist group promotes genealogical research through education, volunteer assistance, and helping to maintain the genealogy room of the Schertz, Texas, Public Library. Topics are not limited to the Schertz Area.

Volunteers from the genealogy group are available to help with questions. Please contact us if you would like to arrange for a volunteer to meet you at the genealogy room.

The Schertz Area Genealogy group meets from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. the first Tuesday of each month in Meeting Room 2 of the Schertz Public Library. Meeting Room 2 is located in the first door on the right when entering through the front doors of the library building. Visitors are always welcome.

Facebook Group Page
Facebook group page for the official Schertz Area Genealogists, please get in contact with the group before requesting access.

The City of Schertz

The City of Schertz: History
The origins of Schertz Texas explained.
The City of Schertz: A Digital History
Anthology containing articles, images, documents, and publications on the history of the City of Schertz.

Texas State Library and Archives Commission - Genealogy Resources
This page will inform you of what resources are available at the State Library as well as links to other commonly used Web Sites.
U.S. National Archives
This site is an archive of governmental documents that were obtained through course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
BYU Family History Library
The BYU Family History Library is located in the Harold B. Lee Library on the campus of Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. It is one of the Family History Centers devoted to assisting library patrons in genealogical research.
The U.S. GenWeb Project
Free genealogy and family history online made possible by the USGenWeb Project volunteers. Search free genealogy websites for your ancestors.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (PCL 1.306) is a general collection of more than 250,000 maps covering all areas of the world. Many of the maps are included in the University of Texas Library Catalog. More than 11,000 map images from the collection are available online.
Cyndi’s List
A comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online.
Chronicling America (LOC) Newspapers
Chronicling America is a website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Search America’s historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Photographs, historical prints, posters, cartoons, documentary drawings, fine prints, and architectural and engineering designs that document the history of the United States and the lives, interests, and achievements of the American people.
Portal to Texas History
The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources.

FamilySearch
Genealogy records that span billions of names across hundreds of collections—including birth, marriage, death, probate, land, military, IGI extracted, and more.
Ellis Island--Passenger Search
Ellis Island Passenger Search database, home to 65 million records of passengers arriving to the Port of New York from 1820 to 1957.
Find A Grave
Find the graves of ancestors, create virtual memorials, add ‘virtual flowers’ and a note to a loved one’s grave, etc.
The Ships List
TheShipsList website, online since August 1999, will help you find your ancestors on ships’ passenger lists.